. Recent news

Welcome to the Hindu Society of Berbice, Sri Krishna Mandir, an organization dedicated to the propagation and preservation of the ancient teachings of Satya Sanatan Dharma or the blissful religion known as Hinduism.

Recent news
Diwali Sewa Appeal
Wednesday, 01 October 2008 23:06

Distribution of grocery hampers to the poor

ImageOn the occasion of Diwali, the Hindu Society of Berbice, Sri Krishna Mandir will once again conduct its Diwali Sewa whereby over 500 families will be recipients of grocery hampers. This project was started in the year 2005 and we have managed successfully in reaching out to the needy. Our Dharma advocates “Daan” – which translates to charity.
Poverty is a reality but sewa (selfless service) is the antidote. Hindu Society recognizes the needs of the community and in our own humble manner we continue to make attempts to alleviate some of society’s burden. No one should be hungry on the night of Diwali. There are several great charities we can perform and among them there is the gift of food, “Anna Daanam.”

If you wish to contribute towards this program kindly contact us either by email ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ) or by phone in Guyana (333-3429).

Sharad Navaratri 2008
Wednesday, 01 October 2008 22:57

ImageGoddess Durga is the mother of the universe and is the power behind the work of creation, preservation, and destruction of the world. Since time immemorial she has been worshipped as the supreme power of the Supreme Being and has been mentioned in many scriptures.

The Meaning of "Durga"
The word "Durga" in Sanskrit means a fort, or a place which is difficult to overrun. Another meaning of "Durga" is "Durgatinashini," which literally translates into "the one who eliminates sufferings." Thus, Hindus believe that goddess Durga protects her devotees from the evils of the world and at the same time removes their miseries.

Durga's Many Arms
Durga is depicted as having eight or ten hands. These represent eight quadrants or ten directions in Hinduism. This suggests that she protects the devotees from all directions.

Durga's Three Eyes
Like Shiva, Mother Durga is also referred to as "Triyambake" meaning the three eyed Goddess. The left eye represents desire (the moon), the right eye represents action (the sun), and the central eye knowledge (fire).

Hindu Swayamsevak Sangh (HSS) Camp 2008
Thursday, 31 July 2008 08:46

 Hindu Swayamsevak Sangh (HSS) is a voluntary, non-profit, social and cultural organization. Sangh, as the organization is popularly known, aims to organize the Hindu community in order to preserve, practice and promote Hindu ideals and values. HSS conducts structured programs of regular athletic and academic activities to develop strong character and leadership skills in its members (known as swayamsevaks for men and sevikas for women), emphasizing values such as self-discipline, self-confidence and a spirit of selfless service (seva) for humanity. We encourage maintaining Hindu cultural identity in harmony with the larger community.

Shakha Activities

Strongly emphasize the physical, intellectual and spiritual growth of each individual and also promote a sense of discipline

In order to promote spiritual growth, a sense of unity with the environment and general well being, yoga is an important part of the shakha program.

Pt. Prakash Gossai's recent visit to Sri Krishna Mandir
Monday, 28 July 2008 19:57

Once again Pt. Prakash Gossai ji graced the Hindu Society of Berbice, Sri Krishna Mandir with two nights of satsangh. Both nights were well attended and devotees were given a chance not only to educate themselves on Sanatan Dharma, they participated with great interests and enthusiasm. We extend our heartfelt gratitude to Pt. Prakash ji and all those who attended and contributed to the success of these two sessions of Satsangh.

Pt. Shreeram Dubey with Pt. Prakash Gossai ji

Chaar Dhaam
Tuesday, 01 July 2008 11:45

There are 4 most important places in Sanaatan dharma to where each Hindu is supposed to make pilgrimage at least once in life. These 4 places are called chaar dhaam , four auspicious abodes of the Lord.
These are:
1. Badrinaath (Uttarakhand, North India)
2. Raameshwaram (Tamil Nadu, South India)
3. Dwaarka (Gujarat, West India)
4. Jagannaath Dhaam Puri (Orissa, East India)


Badri Narayan Narayan Hari Hari
Badrinath temple, sometimes called Badrinarayan temple, is situated along the Alaknanda river,in the hill town of Badrinath in Uttarakhand state in India. It is one of the holiest temples, and is dedicated to Lord Vishnu. The temple and town are one of the four Char Dham pilgrimage sites. It is also one of the 108 Divya Desams, holy shrines for Vaishnavites. The temple is open only six months every year (between the end of April and the beginning of November), due to extreme weather conditions in the Himalayan region.

Badri refers to a berry that was said to grow abundantly in the area, and nath refers to Vishnu. Badri is the Sanskrit name for the Indian Jujube tree, which has an edible berry. Some scriptural references refer to Jujube trees being abundant in Badrinath. Legend has it that the Goddess Lakshmi took the form of the berries to provide sustenance to Lord Vishnu during his long penance in the harsh Himalayan climate.

Several murtis are worshipped in the temple. The most important is a one meter tall statue of Vishnu as Lord Badrinarayan, made of black Saligram stone. The statue is one of eight swayam vyakta keshtras, or self-manifested statues of Vishnu. The murti depicts Vishnu sitting in meditative posture, rather than His far more typical reclining pose.

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 4 of 10
Sandeepani Vidyalaya Hindu Center

  Sri Krishna Mandir - Berbice, Guyana © All Rights Reserved
Site Design by SB Creations